News Releases

ASH awarded WHO medal on 40th "birthday"

Thu 16th June, 2011

Public health minister Anne Milton presented ASH chief executive Deborah Arnott with an award from the World Health Organisation at a special meeting of the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Smoking and Health.

Milton presented Arnott with the World No Tobacco Day Award 2011 in recognition of ASH’s "dynamic" international work.

The meeting, held to mark the anti-smoking group's 40th anniversary, was hosted by Liberal Democrat MP Stephen Williams, chairman of the APPG on Smoking and Health.

Other speakers were Labour MP Kevin Barron, chairman of the Health Select Committee when the smoking ban was introduced in England in 2007, Sir Richard Thompson, president of the Royal College of Physicians, which founded ASH in 1971, and Professor John Moxam, chairman of ASH.

Source: Action on Smoking and Health (16 June 2011)

Back to top